Breaking News: ADP, LP win Senate, Reps rerun elections in Plateau

Breaking News: ADP, LP win Senate, Reps rerun elections in Plateau: Last Saturday’s House of Representatives rerun election for Jos North/Bassa Federal Constituency resulted in the Labour Party’s candidate, Daniel Asama, being declared the winner. The Returning Officer, Prof. James Garba, announced that Asama won with 66,422 votes, defeating Mohammed Gwani of the Peoples Redemption Party, who received 61,670 votes.

Similarly, the Action Democratic Party’s candidate, Prince Pam Mwadkon Dachungyang, won the Plateau North senatorial rerun election.

Punch Newspapers

Returning Officer Prof. Nestor Chagok delivered the results early Monday morning, with Dachungyang receiving 122,442 votes to defeat his nearest challenger, Yakub Muhammad Safiu of the New Nigeria Peoples Party, who received 53,980 votes. Meanwhile, Christopher Musa Giwa, the All Progressives Congress candidate, received 39,132 votes, while Barr. Gyang Zi of the Liberal Party received 33,243.

Last year, the Court of Appeal in Abuja declared the election of PDP candidates Musa Agah and Sen. Simon Mwadkon invalid and ordered a rerun within 90 days. Following this, INEC withdrew the PDP from the vote paper in response to the aforementioned decision.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button