Lionel Messi Takes home his 8th Ballon d’Or

Lionel Messi Takes home his 8th Ballon d’Or: Lionel Messi has taken home the record-breaking seventh Ballon d’Or after the winner of the 2023 competition was revealed.

Read Also: Ronaldo isn’t on the 30-man Ballon d’Or shortlist for the first time in 20 years

Lionel Messi Takes home his 8th Ballon d'Or

Argentina’s 36-year wait for a World Cup ended last December when the South American nation was led to the tournament by the Inter Miami and Argentina striker, who played for Paris Saint-Germain the previous season. Compared to other winners, Messi, 36, has won the prize three times.

At a ceremony in Paris on Monday, Lionel Messi was declared the winner of the Ballon d’Or 2023. This is his eighth consecutive year to earn the esteemed prize.

Last winter, Messi led Argentina to victory in the 2022 World Cup in Qatar. It was the first time he had won the competition, ending a 36-year drought for La Albiceleste.

The 36-year-old was named player of the match and scored twice in a thrilling December final against France that ended 3-3 after extra time. He also scored in the penalty shootout.

Read Also: Lionel Messi Emerges Highest paid MLS Player

Lionel Messi Takes home his 8th Ballon d'Or

To win the prize, Messi had to overcome opposition from 26 other nominations, including Erling Haaland of Manchester City and Kylian Mbappe, his former teammate at Paris Saint-Germain.

He played 41 games in the 2022–2023 season, scoring 21 goals and dishing out 20 assists as PSG won the league title.

Messi scored twice during the group stage of the World Cup in Qatar. He also scored against Australia, the Netherlands, Croatia, and the final, all on target.


Lionel Messi Takes home his 8th Ballon d'Or
The Independent
Lionel Messi Takes home his 8th Ballon d’Or

With seven goals, he came in second on the all-time goalscorer standings and was awarded the Golden Ball at the tournament’s end for an excellent campaign.

Read Also: Lionel Messi clears air on leaving Inter Miami back to Europe

On stage, he said: “Thank you very much, to share this with my national team-mates for what we were able to achieve with the national team.

“The entire group, the coaching staff, everyone involved. I’m delighted to be here once more to be able to enjoy this moment one more time.

“To be able to win the World Cup and really achieve my dream, to share this with all those who were involved.”

Properly, following his World Cup triumph, he concluded by wishing Diego Maradona a happy birthday.

Messi, one of three players nominated for the award who do not currently play in Europe, came to Inter Miami in Major League Soccer on a free transfer after his contract with PSG expired in the summer.

The former Barcelona striker earned the prize in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, and 2021 during his 17-year tenure with the Spanish team, which ran from 2004 to 2021.

In 2009, at the age of 22, he secured his first prize, and now, fourteen years later, he has secured a record-breaking eight.

Cristiano Ronaldo, the captain of Portugal and Al Nassr, is in second place with five honors, although he was not considered for the 2023 edition, which is the first time that has happened since 2003.

There were seven Manchester City players nominated, including Haaland, Kevin De Bruyne, and Julian Alvarez. The Premier League had a large number of nominees.

He praised Kylian [Mbappe], Erling, and Kevin, saying, “Hats off to you guys. You guys are very young, you’ve achieved so much already, so plenty of time left.”

Jude Bellingham, Bukayo Saka, and Harry Kane of England were also included in the nominees.







Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button